Skip to content

Homework Headaches!

January 25, 2010

For 2 hours I was the epitome of motherly love.  I was soft voiced, gently coaxing my son to study for his science test tomorrow.  We laughed together as I made funny comparisons to help him understand types of soils, rocks and minerals.  He did seem to be trying to understand, for the most part at least.  I did it all without the help of my beloved xanax. 

Then, it happened.  We began to answer the test questions at the end of the chapter.  God help me, I snapped.  We had just spent 2 hours going over the same terms many times, and he could not answer the simplest question!  Can we say Dr. Jekyll and Mr. Hyde?

What type of rock is formed from sediment?

Just a blank stare.  Followed by, I don’t know, soil?

That’s when I turned green, my clothes ripped and I became a screaming hulk mom.

Are you kidding me?  Are you serious?  Seriously, don’t you see the word sediment in sedimentary rock?  How can you not see that?  We’ve just gone over this at least 1/2 a dozen times?  Do you know how much it would cost to pay me for tutoring you?  I’m a professional, I screamed at the top of my lungs!  I do this for a living!  People would pay me money to do what I just did for you for free, and you can’t be bothered to pay attention?  Are you kidding me?  Soil is a type of rock I screamed?

At this point, anyone with the good sense God gave them would have walked away, taken a moment, gathered themselves, sipped some water, anything to stop themselves!  Did I?  Oh, NO!  I continued!

Has your brain turned to mush from too many video games today?  Haven’t you been studying this chapter for a while now?  This is exactly why I’ve told you to bring this book home every night so we don’t have to cram a whole chapter  at one time.  How do you expect to pass the test tomorrow?  Weren’t you paying any attention at all?

On and on I went.  Oh yes, I went on.  We then reviewed for 20 minutes and accomplished more in that 20 minutes than we had in the previous 2 hours.  My voice is sore from screaming.  I’m sure even the neighbors can tell you the different kind of rocks! 

I admit I have never conducted a study session while screaming the questions at my students, but I did for my son.  I screamed questions,  he timidly answered. 

What have I done?  I’m sure I have now added several therapy sessions to the ones he will need in the future .  Professional?  Won’t somebody just shoot me now!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. srlsfamily permalink
    January 30, 2010 4:38 pm

    I have had a couple of those sessions this week. My son has been studying the same word study list for 3 weeks. When I can get him to do it, he knows it but …at school. Not.so.much. I lost it this week when he whined for about 20 minutes about wanting to use his DSi instead of doing homework. His DSi is now away for the weekdays and I don’t know what else to do.

    • February 6, 2010 4:20 pm

      The home work thing is definately a biggy in our house! Sometimes I feel like just giving up, or hitting my head against the wall. I have just been plugging away. Putting the DSi away will probably help. I’ve kind of been doing a give and take thing. If you do your homeowork, REALLY study, and we can get “x” amount done, then, you can go play video games. We’ve also been trying to get ahead of the game. For instance, we study a little science or english each night in addition to his other work. Just 10 minutes or so. Then, when it is test time, we don’t have to cram. That seems to be helping as well. Just keep at it! My hope is that he will see that I am more stubborn and not going to give in so he might as well give in! Thanks for visiting! 😀

Leave a Reply

