Skip to content

I’ve Found Face Book!

January 22, 2010

At the age of 51 I have finally given in to peer pressure and now have a page on face book!  What is the world coming to?  Me, face book, can’t imagine the two meshing together.  Yet, I spent 3 days in a haze of face booking .  It is now all a blur of setting up security locks, adding pictures, sending messages, writing messages, learning new lingo like “status”, connecting to friends and family.  The first day, I thought I would only have maybe 12 friends.  I wanted to keep it simple.  By the end of the third day, I had 70 some friends, had links, and found the thrill of  “chatting”! I believe I didn’t shower or leave my computer for 3 days straight.   My husband and son have called Dr. Drew.  They feel I need face book rehab!

My husband sat me down, looked me straight in the eye, and asked what has happened to you?  Remember when we were first married?  Aren’t you the woman who refused to get a microwave?  Didn’t you argue with me about whether it would save time?  Didn’t you insist we not spend the money on one?  Didn’t you swear you would never use it ?  

Yes, but I did give in didn’t I? You brought home one anyway and look at us now!  We don’t eat anything that isn’t “nuked”, grilled, or carried out!  I’ve forgotten, do we still have a stove?

Aren’t you the woman who refused to let go of our 8 track tapes, even after our player quit playing?

Okay, I admit that I did that.  But I really loved those tapes.  We had some great times in college to those tapes!  Don’t forget, I have CD’s now.

So what is your excuse for keeping all your even older vinyl records?

Hey, there coming back!

You hate new technology.  You still refuse to have a phone that takes pictures!

Oh, by the way, now that you mention that.  Honey, could I get a new phone?  I really think I would like one of those new ones that take pictures!  I can see how it would be really helpful, like if I got in a car accident.  I could take a picture of the damages right away.  Don’t you think that would be a good idea?

So, here I come technology.  I admit, people have mocked me. Why, my family has had more than a few laughs on my account because of  this aversion I have to new things, especially techno stuff.  I admit I am slowly catching up, being pulled into this century kicking and screaming.  I admit I’m still hanging on to some remnants of the past.  I admit I have been wrong about almost  every kind of technological advance.  Okay, microwaves are very good things, as are cd’s,  mp3 players, computers, and cell phones that are like little computers all wrapped up in one.

Just one thing, I don’t think I will ever get one of those book thing – a – ma- jigs.  Have you heard of them?  It’s like a book, but no pages to turn?  I just don’t get it?  So what you can store hundreds of books on one!  I could never get all that read anyway 🙂

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

