Skip to content

My Son and Yes He IS My Son

November 7, 2009

My son thinks he’s Gordan Ramsey.  He loves to make his own food.  Now remember, he is 8 yrs. old.  And yes, we adopted him when he was 2.

Maybe it’s because we waited so long for him to come to us.  Maybe it’s because he is an only child.  Maybe it’s because he’s so dog gone cute and smart.  Maybe it’s because  we are a little older.  In any case, it’s not surprising that we indulge him just a little .  We at least try to keep it down to things that are relatively harmless and have little importance in the long room.  Hence, he is allowed to “experiment” freely in the kitchen with food.

Last night he was fixing what he called, ” my amazing tacos”.  I wondered, what he is cooking up now?  His ingredients?  Well, . . . . . he took a slice of olive loaf, then spread mustard all over it, sprinkled shredded cheese and rolled it up into  a wrap shape form.  He said he had wanted to use Miracle Whip, but we were out, so mustard it was.  He begged and begged me to have a taste.  Come on mom,  just try it, you’ll like it.  No, thanks honey, I’m not really hungry right now.  M….O……M..!!!  You are my mother, and if you really loved me, you would try it! 

Well, what can I say.   My heart melted, unlike the cheese, and I gave in to his request.  Oh my, that is good!  It’s just that I’m not a big mustard fan.  He looked at me, with a grin as bright as the sun!  I knew you would like it, they’re great aren’t they?  Oh yes, they are the best.

Yes, he is my son and always will be.  Only a true son could entice his mother to try such a “taco”!  Here’s to my future chef! 🙂

3 Comments leave one →
  1. lighthousegal permalink
    November 7, 2009 5:13 pm

    Isn’t it amazing what we will eat for our little ones? I knew I was a true mom when I realize the cheerios that my daughter was sharing with me from her high chair tray were soggy – and they had just come out of her mouth because she wanted to share.

  2. November 7, 2009 6:51 pm

    Thanks for the chuckle lighthousegal! It’s always a true adventure, isn’t it?

  3. November 7, 2009 7:53 pm

    How’s it going?

    Thanks for responding. I’m going to add you right now. Take care.

    Sincerely,
    Jason

Leave a Reply

