Skip to content

Can we say, Open Mouth, Insert Foot?

October 31, 2009

Good News, Great News!!!   Our son’s first report card in 3rd grade was all A’s, B’s, with only one C!!!!  We are so happy he is doing so well in school this year.  He is really making and effort and his teacher is a great match for him.  She has his number! 🙂

So, we had let him choose which place to go and eat after the teacher/parent conference and getting the  great news!  So, of we went to Golden Corral, or as my husband calls it, the Trough, as in pig trough.  We had a nice meal, celebrating his good grades.  Then the ride home, and it hit the fan.

It all started so innocently, doesn’t it always?  We were discussing our son’s fall break vacation days, and that mine weren’t the same, and that daddy didn’t get a fall break.  Then he said it, the remark I will never let him live down!!!  Well, son, if you have a REAL JOB,  then you work holidays.  Without a beat, the voice from the back seat gasped, You mean mommy doesn’t have a REAL JOB?    Well, in business, I interrupted him with and imitation of a back hoe diggin a deeper whole.  Our son, started laughing, my husband started sputtering something about, I didn’t mean it like that.  Oh really I said.  By this time our son, was enjoy my play anger, daddy’s being in trouble, just the whole thing was funny.  I smarted back, it’s a good thing your son is in the car or I would be ripping you to shreds, but I wouldn’t do that in front of your son, he thinks your great.  Our son quipped back, Yes, I do.  Our son heaved a big sigh, and said, women……they just don’t understand men! 

By this time I was having a hard time not laughing, my hubby was trying to not laugh, and was still squirming at his foot in mouth slip up.  I said, how about if mommy quits her not real job, and we find out how not a real job it is, huh?  Daddy quickly added, mommy makes real money!  Well, how about I take my real money from my not real job, and let you both just live on daddy’s money from his REAL job!  By this time, we were all 3 laughing, and joking about how our son and daddy might have to live in a car, mommy does have a real job, and I just kept doing “the back hoe”.  Don’t you just love it when your husband really says something so dumb!  Believe me, I have gotten a lot of mileage from that one, and intend to get more!  Here’s to our husbands, opening mouths and inserting foot!

3 Comments leave one →
  1. November 2, 2009 3:53 am

    Haha, your husband was so lucky to have your son in the car!

    Gosh, as a student trying to become a teacher, I always hear about how lucky I am to have a job that’s only from 8-3, summers off, winter break, etc… and how I never really have to work except in the classroom, and it just irks me! I even did a paper and speech about how teachers are so under appreciated.

    Great post!

  2. November 2, 2009 4:51 am

    Thanks for visiting my site ! Glad you saw the humor. Yes, after all the years it really gets me going when people talk about how easy it is to be a teacher. I just remind them, you know I don’t get paid for the days we don’t work? We don’t get paid holidays, or vacations like other professionals do. That usually stops people in their tracks. Then I go on to mention all the extra hours we are expected to put in, for no pay also. Don’t most people get paid overtime, or at least paid for the time they work? For example, it can take me from 5 – 7hrs to complete grades for over 500 students! I then ask, do you think I am paid for that time? No, I’m not. I just feel like it is my duty to enlighten people, since I am an educator and all:)

  3. jane mccurdy permalink
    November 23, 2009 4:26 am

    Hey cousin,
    Man, I wish we lived closer. You could do stand up comedy. Come to think of it, maybe that could be your real job!!! LOVE YOU

Leave a Reply

